On life in general…

I came across an interesting article in the Wall Street Journal the other day about quitting the rat race and joining the rest of the world in having a life that you love.  I thought I would share it here as I’m on my own journey.  I can’t tell you have relieved I was to see I wasn’t the only thirty year old remaking their life!

The article makes note of the we are all amazed at how working parents manage to balance everything, and I certainly am amazed by married/married with kids friends who do, but no one has asked how single people ‘manage it all’  It’s something many bosses in middle management never take into account either, in my experience.

For more of a perspective on this, I point you to HBO and Bill Maher’s latest take on U.S. corporate vacation policy in the June 15th episode.

I may not have been a big shot lawyer but for years I worked at a law firm and then at a corporation, routinely sacrificing a healthy life for 80 hour work weeks.  I’m very fortunate to have wonderful family and friends who supported me in my decision to start my own writing and consulting business.  (Yes, it’s time to start thinking of what I’m doing as a business and not just freelancing.)

To be honest, I probably work as much as I did before but I’m finally able to create something of my own and that makes for a better balance.  Of course there are different frustrations and I don’t get paid as much as I used to, but it’s mine and if I don’t like something, I finally have the confidence and ability to change it.

Leave a Reply

